“Will You answer the Call?”

These were the last words in the final page of The Art of Manliness Manvotionals: Timeless Wisdom and Advice on Living The 7 Manly Virtues. I love this book, I can see myself referencing to it in the future very often.

However, this also marks my first book read from beginning to the end, so now I will try to find another book, and then 10 more for the following months, until I’ve made my goal of reading 12 books for the year. I guess by then, I can figure out a particular pace for myself, and perhaps alter that number (hopefully increasing it) so that I can read more books and become a more well-rounded individual. But what should I read next?

Well, this book has allowed me much to reflect upon, how I should act, in public, in private, how I should think, reason, and the values that I should try to uphold throughout my life. There’s also a contest that requires one to read an excerpt from the book, and the prizes are pretty cool, $50 Amazon gift card, a special Journal worth $125 and a leather hand bag worth $500. Sounds interesting, I feel like participating. Perhaps I should let someone in to help me.

Well, I have to punish myself for looking up girls kissing again… Sigh… I don’t know why I did it. I have to tough out these urges I guess, when feeling their approach, I should walk away or something of the like. I have to do better… if not, then how will I be when a different urge comes along, what then? Will I be it’s slave or it’s King?

There are 7 Manly virtues that I must uphold: Manliness, Courage, Industry, Resolution, Reliance, Discipline, and Honor. I have to try to hold fast to each of these, and find a way to blend these with the 7 Cardinal Virtues: Chastity, Temperance, Charity, Diligence, Patience, Kindness, and Humility.

For the most part, they can overlap nicely, but that doesn’t mean that I’m upholding them, that just means that I’m failing twice.

I will do better…

I have to…

This entry was posted in Journal.

Leave a Reply

