And so ends the funnest Weekend of the year… so far…

Oh man, am I sore, but this weekend was one of the funnest weekends I’ve had, especially in celebration of my birthday!… Sorta.

Saturday, we went Paintballing as expected, and Man! There was more than 20 people there, the Matches were MASSIVE! Out of 8 games, I was on the team that won the majority of them, and we were playing with veterans! Big, burly guys who are as tough as nails, yet were surprisingly friendly. They already accepted my brothers and myself as one of their own, simply because we were fun to play with. That’s great! Especially since Norm kept bugging me about the potentials and uber fun that comes with a game of 20+ people, although I must admit remembering it was exhilarating and exciting! The only bad part about this was that with all of the running I did, the blister I got on my foot from my 3 mile run on Thursday grew bigger and I wound up walking around with a limp for the rest of the day, but not before seeing some cute girls interested in playing Paintball first.

Sunday, After the Easter Mass, John, Greggy, Norm and myself went to the Malibu Speedzone, where we had decided to go in celebration for my birthday. We did 2 races, played some Golf and had a blast, afterwards, we went to Knott’s Berry Farm (which was surprisingly close) and got some of their world-famous fried Chicken! Ooohhh… It was the perfect ending for a great weekend! Heh, the whole day I walked with a limp, but I stood victorious as I won the Putt-putt golf competition I had with my brothers. The rest of the day at home was relaxing as we all were tired from all of the fun we had.

Needless to say, I had fun this weekend, and now I’m back on track with my studies and looking for a job, I have been informed that one of my cousins might help me get a job, I’ll have to look into it.

I saw the videos that Norm’s had posted on Facebook, they were from last summer, and my late-Father was in nearly all of them. He always loved cameras and taking pictures, although he didn’t do it too much, he always seemed to have a fascination with keeping the memories contained in a photograph or video. I’m amazed that I wasn’t saddened at hearing my Father’s laughter and voice… I’m concerned that I should be, but I’m not. Mind you, I loved my Father like any son should love his father.

But I’ve always told myself that I had never hid anything from my Dad, he knew everything that was going on with me, and he always knew that I’d jump at the chance to go with him regardless of what it was for. Maybe, I’ve convinced myself of this reasoning… I don’t know, I’ve always thought that “the harshest tears were shed for those things left undone and words left unsaid” and there was nothing left unsaid nor undone between us.

I suppose this is the strength my father has left me, his love for me, and his example always fresh in my mind, heh, looking back, as the rest of the world called me smart or intelligent, he always called me a dummy, jokingly of course, but that always stuck by me, that and his hitting the back of my head almost like some sitcom or TV show. I blamed him for my terrible memory saying that his hitting me was causing my memory loss, and he responded with, “It’s because I love you.” or with “Noo… I’m restarting your brain.” which sometimes resulted in another hit if I was careless enough…

Those were the best times and fondest memories of my Father. Mostly because all of my other memories of him are of him doing things which I admired him for, He was the strong, silent-type, which can be a bad thing, because he didn’t talk to you unless you talked to him first, he always kept to himself. His own father died when he was 10, so I don’t think he had too many father-figures in his life, which resulted in some situation with my family that could’ve been resolved better. And I know he wasn’t perfect, he has his failures just like everyone else. But despite my knowledge and awareness of this, I will always value what he meant to me: a strong Man who did what needed to be done. He wasn’t perfect, but he always tried to do the right thing.

Wow, this post turned out to be longer than I anticipated. I should get some rest, especially since I know my body needs the rest, and I need to stop staying up so late, because it’s messing up my sleeping and exercising. So I’ll see you around, for now.

This entry was posted in Journal.

Leave a Reply

