And so passes 6 weeks…

6 weeks from today, I had accepted a challenge that I’ve posted for myself on NerdFitness.com. An interesting challenge that’s meant to test and push me beyond my limitations and inspire me to achieve the goals agreed upon. The 3 goals were divided into 2 fitness goals and 1 life goal. They were as follows:

Fitness
1) Bench press 80lbs
2) Perform the Strength training exercises with 70 lbs across the board

Life
Get a job.

Unfortunately, I overestimated my abilities and couldn’t achieve the weight I had aimed for, nor could I get a job, as I am still unemployed. Alas, I have been defeated by this Challenge. but that’s alright, because I still have my ambition to become stronger, and I’ve found a new workout routine. And it would be an understatement to say that it was difficult. I’ll call it “The Push routine” for simplistic purposes, because that’s what it consists of, each exercise focused on pushing via bench press or squats or weighted sit-ups. I can only hope that pain on my upper right back isn’t serious or will hinder me from continuing my exercises because I hate being restricted.

Heh, I can tell I’m going to be sore tomorrow and that’s a good thing, in a twisted way. Twisted in the sense that it’s painful, but good in the sense that my body will adapt to this.

Nosce te ipsum, Latin for “Know thyself” which I have always thought was an important skill to master, the Self. To know how you will react or respond in any given situation because you know yourself that well. I always tell people that I’ll help them up whenever they fall, I may be laughing while I’m doing it, but I’ll still help… just laughing as I’m doing it. But knowing what motivates you, what weakens you, what fills you with compassion, anger, gentleness, fury, kindness, fear, is the key to understanding how to overcome the bad one and focus on the good ones. For example, I’m a sucker for a girl with curly long hair, I think artificial curling moreso than natural, but knowing this, I can understand what attracts me to some girls over others, and so on.

So now, I’m faced with another challenge, “What do I do now?” Well I think the answer to that is rather obvious: I keep going! I still need a job, Graduation is in June along with my loan payments, My volunteering orientation is the 24th, so there’s really no reason for me to slow down now. I can’t I have too many things to do! And with these new routines, I’m going to be in a lot of pain… Mind you, I’m smiling while I’m typing this. The ticket to the future is open, and I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will bring!

Leave a Reply

