The Sound of Silence

All day today, I’ve been having this song stuck in my head, and I’ve no idea why. So I’m going to spend some time looking over it and examining why it can remain in my mind.

It starts with Darkness as a old friend, one that will always listen to the speaker/singer, a bittersweet reunion that is usually under less than pleasant circumstances. A Vision, an idea is growing in his mind, that he cannot get rid of.

Now the Singer is talking about a recurring dream where he is walking and is met with a mass of people who would not speak, nor hear, and sung silent songs that would not break the thunderous silence that surrounds them. Yet the Singer pleads that the people break that silence for it will consume them forever. So he tries to make himself the example by saying that he’s willing to teach them and help them break the silence, yet his words fall upon empty ears.

The people then turn and started worshiping a false idol, one that they had made, which bears a sign saying that the words they must follow are the graffiti that’s displayed upon the walls of housing and subways.

So. That’s my interpretation of the song, so now the question of “Why is it stuck in my head?” I know there are days when a random song gets stuck in ones head, but I’m curious as to why this one is.

Hmm… The Singer sees a troubled people and tries to help them, ok, that sounds admirable, I think that were I faced with the same situation, I might help the troubled people as well. He even used himself as a means to help the people with “Hear my words/Take my arms” I tend to use myself as an example to help my explanations for others. I’ve never had a recurring dream before.

Darkness has always been a friend of mine, it’s in a lot of things that I interact with, heh, I’m sitting in darkness as I’m typing this. Although, I’m of the mind that “It’s better to light a Candle than to curse the Darkness”.

The Sound of Silence. I understand what this is, yet it’s rather difficult to put it in words. It’s the presence of stillness. It’s like a blanket that completely covers you, and like a blanket, it can be easily lifted and tossed away as well as be this massive weight that has you pinned and trapped underneath it. It can feel like af familiar yet, broken home. Bittersweet yet you miss it, you miss  the pain and the pressure all around and within you, yet it’s the warmest embrace you’ve ever felt its intimate yet penetrating hands reach far deep within you, it’s an infinite abyss that seems to always be right in front of you, you reach out for it and it just remains motionless, like trying to grab a star or the Sun, it’ll always be within your sight yet you know that it will never be in your possession, so it remains staring at you, wondering what you’re doing reaching for it. Its blank expression never changes so it just stares at you while remaining as is. Empty as the gap that lies between you, yet you feel so close that you can grab it if you just reached a bit further. Like a child, you feel so small, insignificant against the surrounding Silence, haunted by thoughts that any and all action would be useless against breaking it, yet it’s an illusion, a black curtain that need only be drawn with the smallest amount of effort and it’s defeated.

Such a strange thing. The Sound of Silence. Many people have their own interpretations of this song, at the time it came out, there was a war going on, so many people thought it was a statement against that, but the Singers say that it’s not. Then again, poets and artists, even authors often say their work is always open to the interpretation and imagination of their audience… Adds to the flavor of their style. I guess, we all have echos of something that seems strange to us. I think Silence would be mind because of my introverted nature and comfortableness of being still and silent, Heh, welcoming the Sound of Silence and the stillness of the world, the embrace of my old friend, Darkness.

So now, I will sleep because if I stay up, staring into the abyss, the abyss winds up staring into me and my mind will be lost to it. So I will end it here. See you around.

One comment on “The Sound of Silence

  1. […] The Sound of Silence (redsjourney.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

