Children drain the soul

Ha ha ha, sorry, I don’t really mean it, It’s been roughly 6 days since my nieces have come and I’ve noticed that I’m significantly 110% more tired each day than before, so my scientific mind quickly jumped to the differences between then and now.

On a more serious note, I love the girls. I’ll never let them know the true potency and depth of my love for them, because if I did, I’ll be putty in their hands.

Perhaps my new-found exhaustion is due to the fact that I see them in segments, or rather, each summer, so over the year they grow (substantially), and I get the results of said growth, so with that, I have to adapt to their mannerisms and ever-impressionable personalities and quickly!

Sirena is becoming more reserved and technologically dependent, or will be, that is. She tells me that she doesn’t like the outdoors anymore, although I cannot hold anything she says as serious because, well let’s face it, she’s 8. When I was 8, every sentence ended with a 5 second pause and followed by a “PSYCH!”

Isa is raw energy manifested, she’s always running, playing, looking, observing, questioning, heh, she’s constantly curious and her mind is always working and running, heh, when she’s not being lazy. And as strong as she is, she’s scared of walking into the dark by herself. The strength and fragility of a Flower blooming in adverse conditions. I can see this one going far.

Suffice to say, the girls like to play and run around, this is new energy entering the house, and the energy I’m used to, is well not little children energy, I am– or was — used to the stillness of the house, because I was the youngest, and my energy was no longer running around wildly, playing tag.  Oh well, I’m not about to let them beat me again like last year! I’ll get stronger to make sure that not only can I catch up to them, but surpass them in energy!

Oh yeah, and I finally graduated, I’m now a wielder of a Bachelor’s in Biology: Biomedical Sciences with a Biophysics Minor.

Leave a Reply

