Cook? I can cook!

It’s Sunday morning… I’ve woken up just in time… I put on some clothes and head downstairs to the kitchen, I see my father turning on the stove, and setting up the ingredients: Chopped onions, green and red salsa, Parmesan Cheese, and Tortillas… It’s Sunday morning, and we’re going to make Chalupas.

Although often overlooked by many, men can cook rather well. My Father in particular learned how to cook various Mexican dishes simply because he needed to when he was younger, but now when he cooks… Ohh… When he cooks, every flavor has a special spice, I’ve yet to place my finger on it, but my only conclusions are some blend of spices, or Fatherly Love.

But if someone, like me, told him that I couldn’t cook, he’d say (after hitting me upside the head) that cooking is easy, just follow the instructions and that’s it. It’s an important skill that every man must learn, for a man who is not able to cook is not even a man.

Cooking is far more than merely firing up a grill and throwing a steak on there, cooking also includes baking, seasoning, roasting, it’s involves a level eye for ingredients, knowledge of the differences between a ‘Pinch of salt’ versus ‘a Dash of salt’ and so on. To my Father, these things were necessary, simply because if one didn’t know what he was doing, the food would taste terrible!

Which often made me wonder, if my Father was particular about the flavor of food, how is he able to eat 3 helpings of whatever was made? It’s like, he’d tell you, “Ehh, needs more salt” after his third plate, and if I ever offered to take the food back and re-season it, he’d say, “Well, I’m hungry now, so I’ll eat it!”

Ha ha ha, I’ll never understand it.

But I’m glad that he placed that idea within me, now I’m glad to say that I can actually cook! I can make anything from Mac and Cheese, to Orange Pot Roast, to the Godfather Spaghetti! I must admit I rather like cooking, it’s interesting, heh, kinda like Chemistry, you put in various things together in their respective proportions and you wind up with a new concoction, or in this case, a tasty meal! There’s even fire involved!

but one thing is for certain, as in cooking, when one is doing anything, however small or miniscule, it should be done right. I have no dreams of being a chef, but when I do cook, I’ll make sure that everything tastes good and flavorful. So when applied to other things, when one is cleaning, or studying, or even driving, it should be done properly, observing that each part of said activity is given its respective attention and care. Otherwise, you’ll wind up ruining it and in flames. Sometimes literally.

Heh, now I’m often complimented, not for my cooking, but for the fact that I can cook. My Mother’s friends would say that I’m ready for marriage because my culinary skills are rather developed, also since I’m the only one in the house currently, who can cook, I’m glad that my brothers and mother don’t have to starve or waste their money on fast food, even though Norm still does.

I’ve also come to realize that there’s a genuine peace when you’re cooking, it’s kind of hard to explain, but there is a moment when the food is cooking, and you’re in a moment of tranquility, just watching the pot cook. There’s also a passion when you really get into making the meal, everything is coming into place, the process is bursting with flavor, and you’re not even done yet! Ahh, it fills you up with a flame!

Cooking can even bring people together, particularly grilling, they help open opportunities to converse, to teach, to learn, to appreciate, even to laugh and to love.

“For those who fight for it, Life has a Flavor the sheltered will never understand.” – Wise Man from Sucker Punch

Leave a Reply

