The Backbone of a Man

Back in October, my good Friend, who bears a SibRing was throwing a birthday party for his three year old daughter. Seeing as to how he was a good friend, I made it a priority to attend, so I got there early, and I was hanging out with my friends, and then I noticed, that they had a bouncy house, some of my friends and I looked at each other, and with the idea that when the children get here, the bouncy house won’t be available, we decided to jump around in it. I did some flips and then some kids got inside, and for their safety, we, the adults, got out. But during the adults’ time, my friend who was a year or two, younger than me, stopped and said, “Look at us, 4 adults jumping in a bouncy house.” To which I replied, “Hey, we’re the adults now, and it’s up to us to decide what that means!” a quote I paraphrased from XKCD.

The following day, though, my back had disagreed with my decisions from the previous day…

I stood up the next morning and “OOO! Ahh! My Back!”

My lower back, was in pain! Walking hurts as my right leg muscles were part of the pain that was in my back; rising from sitting hurts because some of the muscles that are in pain are stabilizer muscles; leaning over hurts, because that’s stretching the muscles; and squatting down to pick up things? Nothing! Looks like my back pain doesn’t completely inhibit me.

So now what am I going to do? Well, last Monday, I decided to do a Zombies, Run mission, with chases and all… Heh heh, not my brightest idea, although, it felt exhilarating, pushing beyond the boundaries of pain, I learned that, however, there’s a price to be paid for going beyond those limits. And the price for suppression the sensations of pain is that the pain returns with a vengeance!

Now it’s Sunday and I’m still feeling the pain from that run on Monday! So this presents a very serious problem for me.

  1. My current NerdFitness challenge involves running which would hurt my back
  2. My Handstand training also seems to have ties with back pain
  3. The pain doesn’t seem to be subsiding with the Icy Hot I’m putting on my back where the pain is

So now, here I am, trying to find ways to relieve myself of this back pain, I’m going to try some yoga to see if there’s any subtle changes, but if that doesn’t work, then that means that I’m in more trouble than I originally thought, and that I’ll have to back down from exercising and NerdFitness altogether!

Leave a Reply

