One forgotten detail

I was reviewing some medical school requirements and I just saw a sentence that never clicked until now. “A recommendation letter from a physician.” Wait… Whaaat!?

I know I can get fantastic recommendation letters from former bosses and professors, because they know that I’m not a man of material things but a man of morals. But I don’t know any physicians! I barely shadowed one! I’m nowhere near getting a letter of Rec from a physican!

Crap… How could I have not seen this vital detail?

So now this means that I have to go back to the hospital and volunteer/shadow once again. Well, that’s not bad, but I’m kicking myself for not noticing this beforehand. I’ll see some old friends again, I hope, but I definitely need to spend some time following a doctor around to have them see what kind of doctor I want to be so that they will write me a letter of Rec.

Blech, that left a sour taste in my mouth. Well, it’s not like I don’t like other doctors, but this feels like I’m there for the wrong reasons, sigh… No, I have to look past that. 

I am there because this task is required in order for me to become a doctor. My pride will be forgone because this task is necessary! Who cares what I think, so long as I reach all of the requirements asked of me! My reasons and personal feelings over why I dislike this are paled in comparison to the reasons and personal feelings I have for WHY I’m doing this!

This is the sort of thing I should be expecting in the future, I’ll be forced to do things that I’ll personally not like in order to achieve my ultimate goal. I guess I should be grateful that not only will this give me a chance to see some friends again, but it doesn’t go against my own morals and ethics. 

In either case, whether I like it or not, I need to get this done! So it doesn’t matter how I feel, ha ha ha, if it needs to be done, it needs to be done! That’s just it.

 

Leave a Reply

