A Fresh Perspective on Life

Today My brother Vicky came, and gave me gifts, from himself and Dawn, Cookie Monster Cupcakes and a brand new laptop computer. A Dell Laptop Computer Intel Celeron 1007U.

I was blown away.

This is my first post using this new laptop device and it feels amazing. Granted, the feel of the keyboard and some features are different, so I’ll have to get accustomed to it, but this feels fantastic!

When I asked, what was the occasion, one was that they won’t be here for my birthday coming up, and the other was because I did well enough on my MCAT to apply.

This new laptop comes with Windows 8 and it’s full of so much potential. I can foresee myself doing all sorts of interesting things in the future with this. I’d like to learn how to code HTML, I can read books and Mangas, like I always wanted. It’s a bit overwhelming, because a lot of these things, I would like to do over time, but now with this new laptop, I can do all sorts of things, even things I couldn’t do before, it’s just practically endless!

But, what do I do with my old one? I’m a sentimental man, if nothing else, and my previous laptop was a gift from my late-father, I don’t want to get rid of it, for any reason, but to sit there with 2 laptops is being greedy, is it not? Logically, I can obviously do LOTS more things with my new laptop than with the old one, due to the latter’s experience of being in the ringer I call “LSU”. It’s pretty slow, the battery doesn’t charge anymore and it’s seen a LOT of information. But I cannot see myself really parting with it, there’s just so many things between this laptop and myself, it’s seen me start a great many things, this journal being one of them. Not to mention that no matter how long it’s been, since I’ve used it, the familiarity will always remain. I can type and move faster than even the computer can recognize, but that might be because it’s a bit slower now, heh heh.

I still don’t know. There’s really nothing on my previous laptop that I cannot put on my new laptop, maybe the NF and ThinkGeek stickers on the lid, but that’s roughly it. Yet, it’s going to take some convincing to really let my old laptop go. Gah, This is one reason why I only try to live with so little, because if I allow myself to collect things, for any reason even remotely recreational, I’ll wind up on one of those Hoarders shows, Heh, it’s a good thing I don’t have any income at the moment, otherwise all my money would be gone.

But at this moment, I have a new laptop, so I’m going to enjoy it and everything it comes with, until my Pterygium starts acting up, and I’ll have to rest my eyes from staring at such a marvelously smooth screen.

This is going to be Fun!

Leave a Reply

