Professional

So, in the new room, the power has gone out, this happened a few days ago, I look up the number of the company that constructed the room, and called them, up where I was directed to a rather friendly man, “Oh, I think I have an idea of what the problem might be, I’ll be there on Thursday.” I hang up, and write “Elect-Man” on the calendar to inform everyone that he’s coming.

Thursday comes and… Nothing. The entire day, nothing happens, I call up the company and they gave me the cell number of the same friendly man, so I try the number, and… Nothing. Again. The following day comes and I try to call the cell number again… Nothing. I’ve been running around doing errands during all this time, so I’m too exhausted to get really angry, I merely acknowledged the other person during the conversation, when he tries to make some small talk.

Days pass by and Norm decides to call the company, I go run more errands and I notice that he isn’t yelling, something I was expecting him to do since he’s frustrated about this whole situation. When he hangs up, he tells me, “Sometimes it’s better to not yell and merely state your point with firmness.” I was surprized actually, I expected him to raise his voice and sternly express his disappointment. When he didn’t, I was hit with a thought, ‘He was professional about it.’ I was listening to Jazz music at the time and I imagined the classic clothes of Jazz Musicians, and they usually wore a vest, a tie, dress pants, a fedora, pinstriped shirts… Usually. They looked, professional, at least their attire consists of it.

Being professional, even when faced with unprofessionalism in others, also speaks of values spoken from ArtofManliness.com, in a sense, a real man is always professional, tactful, calm, not loud, rude, rash, nor inconsiderate of the feelings of others. as Plato put it, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.” Heh, I really never understood the true meaning of this, I must sadly admit, for I always thought I was nice and considerate of others right from the get-go. How strange, that something so simple has eluded me, especially in times when I’m running myself ragged, or when I’m exhausted, or just plain tired… Heh, in times when it’s needed the most.

Now I’m certain that I didn’t snap at others nor did I ever become hostile, I remained neutral, almost apathetic towards others, if someone commented on something I am attached to, then I’d simply not fully acknowledge it in my response, I’d merely shrug it off with an, “Oh, yeah.”

I have been unprofessional in these dealings, according to most, for to be professional is to put aside all personal problems to perform ethical duties, that didn’t require my own personal feelings in it, I mean, one’s personal opinion isn’t required when taking out the garbage, to put it in very simplistic terms. I shouldn’t be inconsiderate to others despite how I feel at the moment, I mean what about the person I’m interacting with?

What about the man who’s working 2 jobs to feed his family? The Divorcee who’s paying both her husband and her lawyer, while trying to stay above water? What about the abused? The broken, the beaten, and the damned?

I remember that song, “Welcome to the Black Parade” from My Chemical Romance. It’s a good song, the first CD I ever bought with my first paycheck. I’ve listened to that CD for hours, nearly having every song memorized. That was one of my favorite.

I’m getting off-topic. The idea here is that unless dealing with children, I need to be professional at all times. One, to display to others that I am worthy of being called a Professional, by example; Two, to be considerate of others, while they might be facing horrible days or not, I can be the one that doesn’t add to their stress/angst, if not the only one.

Being Professional = the ability to remain tactful, calm, peaceful, firm, and clear even when you don’t feel like it.

Leave a Reply

