How to Calm Down

The last couple of days, I’ve been on the brink of losing my temper, and yet, there was something that caused me to experience the same things that had originally caused me to be irritated, but I wasn’t bothered in the least. I was, in fact, laughing at this, while it happened on multiple occasions, one right after the other.

So, I started thinking, ‘What is this great factor that causes me to be completely at ease with the world?’ and then it hit me, each time I was completely unaffected by anything was when I was completely exhausted, or rather, right after some arduous activity, be it manual labor or exercising. If I’m sweating or panting, if my heart is beating at a higher rate than normal, if I’ve done anything physical, I’m immediately at ease with the world.

Of Course! How could I’ve been so stupid!?

The Endorphins that are released after the physical activity is why I’m so at ease! I can tackle any and all irritations if I get my blood pumping just a little. Maybe I should do some push-ups or shadow punches after I’ve woken up, to help me get moving through the day, and to make my own self less of a jerk to others.

I need to learn to let Life, itself, go as a thing that is not of my control. I don’t know why I’ve been trying to get a grasp of it, that’s not usually my M.O. I’ve been known to adapt and be rather flexible with my life and activities, perhaps it’s the Life changes that are happening, I’m moving to a new home for the first time, I’m still not in medical school, I’m actually going to get a Minor in Spanish, and now my sister and her family are coming to live with us, hmmm… on here it’s quite daunting, now that I see it. But in reality, this is something that’s been inevitable, so it really bears no weight on me, or rather, it shouldn’t.

In either case, I’m beginning to lose my train of thought, so I should wrap this up. So, I need to move my body before I accidentally wind up moving my mouth, and getting into trouble, and kick myself afterwards.

Leave a Reply

