When You’re Angry

Despite my journey and age, I still consider myself an young man, “just a kid” if you will, with many experiences still lying in wait for me in the years to come, and with this in mind, I’ve come across more than several occasions where I’m forced to face the consequences of my actions, or lack thereof. In these situations, I immediately reflect on what wrongs I have done, and how often I’ve done them, triggers associated with it, and so on. And it was due to a recent event, that I’ve come to a realization that when people are angry, they’re revealing the fact that they’ve had their vulnerable sides exposed to me. And that vulnerability is more truthful toward what sort of character that you truly possess. All of your walls, the bridges you’ve burned, and the people you’ve interacted with, all of those things are displayed before me with your sharp voice, your piercing gaze, even within the insults you’re using to hurt me.

You’re showing me that you’re vulnerable, and you don’t want to be, or rather, you don’t want to remember the pain you’ve tried to forget, from however long ago.

Granted, I don’t want to have to make you angry to see who you really are, but this is more of a silver lining to this scenario.

It’s strange to think about, when one is angry, they are in a state to use their strength and their fury, but also they reveal their most scarred and sorrowful experiences, all at once, showing you their pain and everything tied to it.

As time passes, we learn to control our anger, either modify it so that you’re only angry to a point, or to change the actual trigger itself, or some other variation on that, but the point is that in one form or another when we are at our lowest/highest/breaking point, we show in however brief a moment, who we are to the world, to the people, and especially to yourself

2 comments on “When You’re Angry

  1. And we show areas that we have to work on/eliminate.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

