The Sunrise of 2014

Like years before, I stayed up all night to see the sun rise for the first time in this new year. I even waited outside in my Assassin’s Creed hoodie, that I got for Christmas, I paced back and forth for warmth, but I greeted my old friend at his arrival signalling the dawn of a new year. After a quick prayer in the cold morning, I went back inside to await everyone else and begin this new year with a Paintballing game.

Taking a bit of a break from my Heart-to-Heart miniseries, ArtofManliness.com gave me their latest article and it was a rather intriguing one: a 31-day Journal Challenge. I quickly glanced through the prompts and my curiosity was hooked, so I’ll give this a try. It sounds like fun.

* * *

Day 1: Start with answering the question of why you want to journal, and beyond that, why you decided to embark on this 31-day experience. Write out what you’d like to get from journaling.

 OK, so this is my first prompt. Why I want to journal? Hmm… I guess I’ve always liked the idea of putting my thoughts into some form that’s in front of me. When I’m trying to study, I imagine the information in floating windows around me like in Iron Man. I also read it in the ArtofManliness.com’s article series of 30-days to become a better man. So it was revealed to me that the great men before me have kept journals to help them focus their thoughts and feelings, and me? Well besides from wanting to be a great man, myself, I could use a lil help trying to focus my own thoughts and feelings. So I wanted to do this 31-day experience to sort out my thoughts, glancing through the future prompts this is going to be somewhat invasive and personal, so I thought this would be of a great help to me. In the end, besides having my mind displayed on these digital pages for future people, I’ve always figured that my death would be cut short, I’ve no idea why, nor how this will happen, but I guess it’s something of a worst-case-scenario for me, so should this lifeline be cut short, I’ll at least have some part of me that will go on… that will be immortal. Huh, weird…

Looks like that does it for today, I have to remember to make an effort to finish my own Heart-to-Heart miniseries before I forget. But I have a feeling that this 31-Day experience will help me with my own experiences.

Leave a Reply

