A Letter for a Day

Day 5: Write a letter to a loved one. Chances are high that there is someone in your life that you’d like to say something important to. Maybe it’s a wife, a parent, a grandparent you never really got to say goodbye to…take the time today to write that out. It can be positive, negative, or anywhere in between. The beauty of this letter is that you aren’t sending it in the mail, you’re simply “voicing” something that needs to be said. Should you choose to share it later, that’s okay, but you don’t have to. Doing this can be a great way to heal anger that’s been pent up inside, or to release a pressure valve of sadness we may have been harboring over something lost.

A Letter to a loved one, eh? That’s interesting… “Something that needs to be said.”

Dear Father,

I know you tried to give me as much as possible, and tried to teach me by your silent example, and I know that there are some lessons that you wanted me to learn and it simply didn’t stick. I also know that there were some lessons that you didn’t want me to learn and I unfortunately did learn. I know you never really understood what I say to you, or why I am the way I am, or even why I laugh at the jokes that I do, but know that your smile always brought me gladness, and that I now know how much pain you’ve had to bear each and everyday, and that, to smile in the middle of all that, only makes me admire you more. Raising all of us wasn’t easy and you’ve stumbled more than anyone’s willing to admit, but with me, at least, I would not have had it any other way. Dad, before you died, I wanted to ask you if you were proud of me, and because I didn’t put much thought to it, I never got the chance to ask you, and knowing you, you’d probably call me a taras and tell me “Of course I’m proud of you!” and probably tell me things that I already know about my being the first in the family with a Bachelor’s or that I’ll be a doctor soon enough, I just gotta “restart my brain.” But the truth is that, I’m not sure if I’ll ever be a doctor, I’m stuck here, Dad, and some might think that your passing has something to do with it, but I thought we were good. We were partners, I thought that we had an understanding and that, despite my last question, there was nothing left between us. I wanted you to know that, I’ll find a way to get out of this, and that I still have you in my heart. We’re doing alright as a family now, David and the girls are getting used to life here in California, Mom’s still strong, and laughing, we’re taking good care of her. I’m not sure how else to continue this letter, so I’ll just say that Dad, I know that you’d say that you’re proud of me, but I need to convince myself that what you think of me was true, and I won’t rest until I become a doctor. Thanks for giving me that void, that space I need, to keep pushing myself.

I love you Dad,
Taras

Leave a Reply

