Distractions and Creations

Day 23: Make a list of things that distract you. Every man deals with distractions, whether at work or at home. It could be the internet in general, it could be a specific website, it could even be something that’s actually beneficial, and yet distracts to some degree from something that’s important to you. Making a list creates awareness, and you can better slay those distraction dragons.

  • Nieces
  • T.V.
  • NF Chat
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Brave Frontier
  • Stumbleupon
  • Youtube
  • Random Googling late at night

Day 24: In modern times, men have become more spectators than doersmore consumers than creators. Yet one of the marks of a mature man is being someone who doesn’t just consume the culture around him, but actually helps create it. Think about all the ways you consume the world around you, and the time you spend doing it. Next, think about the ways you can reverse that, and start to actually be a creator. That’s an intimidating word to some, so come up with ways that you can get off the couch and do something productive instead of just mindlessly intaking.

The ways I consume the world… Hmm… Well, at this point, I’m going to probably think that I’m something of a leech, because I have no job and I have my own room, car and I eat food. Throw in all of the electricity I’m taking up having a laptop and cell phone and I’m almost a black hole of consumption. But then I think about what I did earlier today, I gave up exercising at the gym today to build my mom’s armiore/closet. I’m going to be driving Greg to the gym to exercise with me, I help take care of my nieces when their parents need the assist, homework, projects, and even the occasional tucking them in. I drive anyone who needs a ride, and I’m willing to go far for whatever they might need. I’m always open to listening whenever it’s needed, and whenever someone asks me for something, I don’t hesitate to offer my helping hand. So although I don’t actually create anything, I think I’m finding way to make up my consumption of resources, and I’ll eventually get a job so that I can find more ways to create!

2 comments on “Distractions and Creations

  1. I need to write down my “Distractions” list. Random late night googling is definitely in the top 3. :-/

    • red1263 says:

      It’s good to sit down and kinda think about it, my list isn’t long, but I’ve realized that each thing on my list can take HOURS out of my productivity.

Leave a Reply

