Verify

Part 4 of my Heart-to-Heart with myself, it’s been coming for quite a while…

Verify:
verb: verify;

  1. make sure or demonstrate that (something) is true, accurate, or justified.
    “his conclusions have been verified by later experiments”
    synonyms: substantiateconfirmprovecorroborate, back up, bear out, justify,supportuphold, attest to, testify to, validateauthenticateendorse,certify

    antonyms: refute
    • LAW
      swear to or support (a statement) by affidavit.

Heh, I’ve gotta admit, this is a rather difficult post to write, simply because, I’m not sure what to put, but luckily, an answer came to me in the form of a fortune:

“You are capable, competent, creative, careful. Prove it.”

 Granted, these are just scraps of paper, I’m a man who believes that certain things come into your life when they need to be. And oddly enough, this particular fortune rings true with me. I was having a bit of a time trying to figure out exactly what to verify, but I think this fits.

In all honesty, there are a LOT of things that I am, many roles that I play in this world, and each with their own rules and  responsibilities. But that’s where this fortune comes in, these 4 adjectives define me within a pretty accurate, albeit broad spectrum, and yet, it’s the last two words that made me want to use it to write this post with. “Prove it.” I’ve always said that you must always provide evidence to any and all claims that are there. Also the next post in this series is “Validate” which is essentially the same thing.

You know, writing it down like this, I realize that I never would’ve used these particular adjectives to describe myself, and I find myself really agreeing with these choices. In all honesty, I wouldn’t change any of them. It fits. Now to see this series to it’s end.

Leave a Reply

