The Best Time to Plant a Tree

There’s a Chinese Proverb that goes, “The best time to plant a Tree is 20 years ago, the second best time is right now.” And that’s what my family and I did at the end of Easter: We planted two trees.

Dubbed “Salad Trees” one of them bears 6 different fruits and the other bears 4 different types of Peaches, and they’re just awesome! I cannot wait until they come to fruition. But what I loved best about this experience, is the gardening.

The digging up of the old trees, clearing the holes to place the new ones, the stretching of the roots, the spreading of the Peat Moss and gardening soil mix, and the eventual placing and planting of the tree. It took us several hours, of digging, and chopping, and pulling, with no small amount of sweat and effort, but the end results were more than satisfactory.

So I guess to put this into a larger prospective, Easter is about the Suffering, Crucifixion and Resurrection of Christ, we had two fruitless trees, and we chopped them down and pulled them out at the roots in order to make room for two trees that do bear fruit, and although we didn’t do anything symbolizing crucifixion, I can’t help but feel that these trees help me see Christ in life. I know now that God can answer one’s prayers at any moment in time, even when one has forgotten that one had asked for it, and I learned this with a cute girl who worked at the Cashier.

Heh, I prayed for God to show me what my fate would be on this particular area in my life, and there she was, smiling and chatting with me small talk. Her name is Sam. But I digress.

In the end, this Easter has been very revealing, in terms of what I know, believe, and how to view my relationship with God. I can only hope that these experiences stay with me as I would like to learn from them as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

