Moon on the Water

A couple of days ago, the family and I went to the local lake, and it hit me like a ton of bricks: I’ve lived next to this lake for years and it is only now that I’m actually here, enjoying it. This lake was only a few minutes away and I never took advantage of that.

And oh, how I did enjoy it. The sun was high in a clear blue sky, and as soon as we found our spot to unpack and settle in, the nieces and I went to the water to enjoy some swimming. The water was a murky green, but we didn’t mind, nor did the number of people who were there swimming around us.

We spent the whole day just enjoying the lake, after swimming, we all ate and the girls flew kites, heh, we even tried to battle them by having them swoop towards each other. And when the night came, we started packing up and as the moon started to rise above the mountains, I saw this:

Moon on the Water

And, it struck me again: This is another experience.

How often have you looked up at the moon, and wondered how those people got those perfect shots? Well, this one is mine, taken from my cell phone, but imprinted on my memories, it was such a beautiful shot, no alterations, no filtering, heh, barely a zoom was needed.

But, this was the first time I’ve seen the moon over any body of water, and so clearly, I must add. I made a promise to myself, this will not be the last time I see the moon in this manner.

There was just something to it. The moon floating there, lighting up the darkness and the water was coming alive, stretching the moon’s reflection through it’s waves. Oh how I wish I could’ve stayed longer, but this is something I’ll look forward to in the future.

This is something, I think everyone should experience in their lives, even if only once.

2 comments on “Moon on the Water

  1. TK says:

    I feel this way too, sometimes. The boyfriend and I have often talked about going to the beach in Chicago – it’s so close to us. We imagine packing a small lunch and just hanging out, maybe reading a book. However, the summer is almost over and we still have yet to do this. It seems like such a simple pleasure. I hope we get to it before it gets to cold.

    Lovely photo.

    • red1263 says:

      Then I recommend that you stop procrastinating about it and do it! You won’t regret it! It doesn’t matter if its winter, summer, or fall, I seriously urge you to go

      And thank you.

Leave a Reply

