“I don’t care.”

There are many factors that separate me from the average individual. (Based on how often I hear about it from others) The way I walk, the way I talk, a sense of punctuality, reliability, the vibe that I’d prefer scotch, or to have a causal drink over partying. It’s interesting what information people can gather based solely on observing me. I had no idea I could reveal so much info subconsciously!

And at the current moment, I’m enjoying wonderful moments given to me by the common flu, I recall when I was at work, and something dawned on me. I had spent the previous 2 days bedridden and feeling unproductive in every sense, I even had my meals prepared for me. For some, this is a life of luxury, for me? This is agonizing.

I hate feeling like I’m a burden upon others, and granted, this is merely a sign of their love for me, and their willingness to display it by taking care of me. I hate this feeling of dependency, despite it being a rather big part of my life (I live with my family, my truck is a hand-me-down, I do rely on others on a daily basis, but this is different), I feel like if I’m capable of performing an action, then I shouldn’t have someone else do it for me. I can cook, despite my feeling slightly dizzy as I stand, yet my meals are prepared for me. It irks me.

And yet, Today I felt well enough to go to work, so I did. It was interesting, My energy was immediately down to a fraction, and I wanted to see how long I can last under my current condition, I lasted about 5 hours, before they sent me home, aware of my current illness. My reaction time was slow, my movements slow, my very thoughts and speech was sluggish, to say the least. I want to think I gave off the air that I was quiet today, but I think if one looked closely enough, they’d see that something was off. But that’s not what made the day interesting.

No, what made it interesting was something else entirely. You see, I care about my job, about the people around me, regardless of who they are. If someone was sick, I would show concern, if someone’s behavior was off, I’d take notice. Hell, if it was cold outside, I’d tell the people leaving to “Stay warm out there.” And I do this, because I genuinely care. I don’t expect anything remotely reciprocal, and in the long run, I know my extended efforts will go forgotten. No one is going to remember the guy who seemed like he listened for about a minute or so, and I don’t expect them to. It’d be ludicrous to, and it would make my efforts hollow if I did them expecting some kind of reward in return, that’s not the kind of man I am. I don’t do favors for others expecting a favor to be done for me. I’m not the Godfather.

But what made this day interesting was the fact that people were ‘surprized’ to see me. You see, no one noticed that I was sick and gone, they simply thought that I had a different schedule. They had only noticed that I wasn’t there, “Oh hey, I haven’t seen you in a while” But this was as casual as can be. I aim to be as punctual as possible, and always aim to arrive early, I often volunteer to be the last man on the clock to close shop. They expect that from me. And yet, I find myself surrounded by people who hadn’t “seen me in a while” I guess, I shouldn’t look too much into it, I was only gone for really 2 days. It wasn’t long enough to really take notice.

To be honest, it’d take me a week to realize when someone has left the job, but then again, I’d work a week straight a shift in which I would never see them. And I’d be the one saying, “You know, I haven’t seen ___ in a while.” I guess I shouldn’t take it too much to heart because I’m guilty of it too.

I took a gamble on my health to work, because I wanted to work, and because I wanted to feel useful again, but to be honest, they don’t need me. This organization can function as perfectly fine as if I was never there.

So I spoke to a coworker, saying that I feel a bit out of it, and she replied, “You should’ve taken that extra day off (today). I would’ve, I don’t care.” Her words left a echo in my mind. Not necessarily what she said, but the concept of it.

Why did I risk my health and went to work today, when I knew I wasn’t well?

What good would it have done?

Nothing special happened today, I didn’t have some philosophical conversation, nor gave wise words today, as a matter of fact, I didn’t talk very much today. So why did I risk my health?

Before you think I’m getting cynical and detached, let me tell you my train of thought.

The very first thing the heart does when it is full of oxygenated blood, ready to send it out to the rest of the body providing life, function and purpose is this: It sends it through the Coronary arteries. A branch off the aorta goes straight back into the heart itself, replenishing the heart because it too, needs that same oxygenated blood. The very thing the heart does when it is full of blood intended for the body is to take some of that blood is give it to itself. It takes care of itself first. Because if the heart doesn’t get that blood then it dies and then the rest of the system goes down, so not only does it want to take some blood for itself, it has to.

It has to take care of itself first, “I don’t care how much blood the rest of the body needs, I need this for myself.”

There’s no shame in taking care of yourself, as a matter of fact, that’s why airplane emergencies require you to put on the face mask on yourself first, rather than another, because if you don’t make it, then both of you will die. But if you get yours on first, then you can help others who still haven’t.

There will be many times in one’s life where you can dedicate every moment to someone outside of yourself, but that does not mean that there won’t be times when you need to dedicate this time only to yourself. Because how can you help or work, when you’re having difficulty doing the very actions that are required of you? If I’m sick, then I need to make sure that I’m 100%, otherwise, I can miss a vein when I stick someone, I can mislabel a product (which is very serious) and lose my job. All because I wanted to feel useful? No sir, this isn’t valid. I have sick days in the waiting, I can afford to not work.

I have to remember that although I’m planning on a life that’s dedicated to helping others, I cannot forget that sometimes the one who needs help is me. Sometimes, I am the one who needs saving, the one who needs to hear wise words.

I can’t be the hero all of the time.

Nor should I be. Because then that means that I have no faith in humanity, no faith that there are other genuinely good people out there. And I can’t believe that. I want to live in a world that houses good people, I know I’m not the only one. And I believe that this world is here and now.

This is a good world, full of good people. Heh, I don’t care how little, nor if I’m really the only one, because Ghandi once said, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” And that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Leave a Reply

